Imagico.de

Geovisualizations
by Christoph Hormann
login english deutsch

Landsat mosaic of Greenland

Landsat mosaic of Greenland

This Landsat mosaic of Greenland gives an up-to-date visual color impression of the island of Greenland as it looks like in summer. For this I processed and assembled Landsat images for the area as well as adjacent parts of Canada (i.e. northern Ellesmere Island).

This Landsat mosaic can be considered a higher resolution supplement to the Green Marble and similarly it represents the surface color with compensation for the effects of the atmosphere. Selection of source data is targeting a late summer time frame with priority on August.

Due to the high contrast between the bright ice and dark ice free areas the whole range of colors needs to be significantly compressed to be shown on a normal computer display or in print. This contrast compression can be adjusted to better bring out the dark areas or to better show subtle differences on the ice. See the gallery below for some samples for this.

The mosaic features seamless coverage of the ocean using the Green Marble mosaic for areas further from the coast without Landsat coverage. Same applies to the northmost areas north of about 82.66 degrees latitude, i.e. the regular Landsat coverage limit. Coastal waters are based on Landsat data showing semipermanent sea ice as well as iceberg and drift ice distribution.

Source data is almost exclusively Landsat 8 imagery from 2013 to 2015 with only very few small areas where this has been supplemented by Landsat 7 imagery from 2009-2013.

Key properties

  • Visible color mosaic of Greenland and northern Ellesmere Island
  • 15m base resolution, total size 106000×188000 pixel
  • Based on Landsat imagery, primarily Landsat 8 from 2013-2015, ~0.1 percent from Landsat 7 2009-2013
  • Ocean color and areas north of 82.66 degrees latitude based on Green Marble
  • Shows atmosphere compensated surface color, available either as linear surface reflectance values or tone mapped for direct display
  • Assembled in Greenland centered polar stereographic projection (EPSG:3413), can be made available in other projections.

Sample gallery

Greenland mosaic sample: Wandel Dal Greenland mosaic sample: Rivers at the coast in Hagen Fjord Greenland mosaic sample: Zachariae Isstrom Greenland mosaic sample: Coast northern Ellesmere Island Greenland mosaic sample: Miller island Greenland mosaic sample: Thule Airbase Greenland mosaic sample: Glacier cross Greenland mosaic sample: Northwest Greenland ice Greenland mosaic sample: Ilulissat Icefjord Greenland mosaic sample: Rivers and glaciers on Disko Island Greenland mosaic sample: Eastern Greenland Greenland mosaic sample: Eastern Greenland (dark version) Greenland mosaic sample: Eastern Greenland 2 Greenland mosaic sample: Eastern Greenland 3 Greenland mosaic sample: Western Greenland Greenland mosaic sample: Nuuk Greenland mosaic sample: Kangerlussuaq Greenland mosaic sample: Frederikshab Isblink Greenland mosaic sample: Coast in the far south

If you are interested in using this Landsat mosaic use the form below to describe your needs and i will get back to you.

Data inquiry

You can use this form to make your inquiry, it is also available via encrypted connection. If you prefer you can also make your inquiry via email of course, at your option also with encryption).

human verification Please enter the code you can see in the image on the left to verify you are a human and not a spamming script.
* * Required field
Information about you
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
I accept the privacy policy*
Your geodata preparation inquiry

Please describe what kind of data you need and the application you would like to license it for:

*

Blog news:

More dust and ice (18 Nov 2017)
Into the light (15 Nov 2017)
Satellite image news (10 Nov 2017)

Todays featured image:

Komsomolets Island
Komsomolets Island
View of Komsomolets Island in Severnaya Zemlya from southwest showing the Academy of Sciences Ice Cap that covers most of the island and the Arctic... [more]
Design and Content Copyright 2015 by Christoph Hormann
last updated Tue, 27 Oct 2015 15:52

Imagico.de

Geo-Visualisierungen
von Christoph Hormann
Anmelden english deutsch

Landsat-Mosaik von Grönland

Landsat-Mosaik von Grönland

Dieses Landsat-Mosaik von Grönland zeigt das Erscheinungsbild der Insel Grönland im sichtbaren Licht während des Sommers. Hierfür habe ich Landsat-Bilder im Bereich der Insel sowie angrenzender Teile Kanadas, also der nördlichen Ellesmere-Insel verarbeitet.

Dieses Landsat-Mosaik kann als höher aufgelöste Ergänzung zum "Green Marble"-Bild verstanden werden und gibt ähnlich wie dieses die Oberflächenfarbe der Erde unter Kompensation der Atmosphäreneinflüsse in den Originaldaten wieder. Die Auswahl der Ausgangsdaten und die Zusammenstellung erfolgten mit Priorität auf dem Spätsommer (August).

Durch die großen Helligkeitsunterschiede zwischen dem hellen Eis und den dunklen eisfreien Gebieten muß die Darstellung im Kontrastumfang für die Wiedergabe auf dem Bildschirm oder im Druck deutlich komprimiert werden. Diese Kompression lässt sich anpassen um entweder Unterschiede in dunklen Bereichen oder die Unterschiede im Hellen besser herauszuarbeiten. Die Galerie unten zeigt Beispiele hierfür.

Das Mosaik deckt den Ozean nahtlos mit ab, wobei für die weiter von der Küste entfernten Bereiche ohne Landsat-Abdeckung das "Green Marble"-Bild als Datenbasis dient. Gleiches gilt für die Bereiche im Norden außerhalb der regulären Landsat-Abdeckung (nördlich von etwa 82.66 Grad Breite). Küstennahe Bereiche des Meeres sind auf Landsat-Basis dargestellt einschließlich Meereseis und Eisbergen.

Datenquelle sind fast ausschließlich Landsat-8-Bilder von 2013 bis 2015, nur in ganz kleinen Bereichen ergänzt durch Landsat-7-Bilder von 2009-2013.

Wichtigste Merkmale

  • Farbmosaik im sichtbaren Bereich von Grönland und der nördlichen Ellesmere-Insel
  • 15m Basisauflösung, Gesamtgröße 106000×188000 Pixel
  • Basierend auf Landsat-Daten, primär Landsat 8 von 2013-2015, ~0.1 Prozent Landsat 7 2009-2013
  • Meeresfärbung sowie Bereiche nördlich von 82.66 Grad Breite auf Basis der Green Marble
  • Zeigt die Oberflächenfarbe mit Kompensation für den Atmosphäreneinfluss, verfügbar als lineare Reflexionswerte sowie als im Kontrastumfang komprimierte Bilddarstellung
  • Produziert in polarer stereographischer Projektion (EPSG:3413), kann in anderen Projektionen geliefert werden.

Beispiel-Galerie

Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Wandeltal Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Flüsse an der Küste des Hagen-Fjords Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Zachariae Isstrom Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Küste der nördlichen Ellesmere-Insel Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Miller island Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Thule Airbase Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Gletscher-Kreuz Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Nordwest-Grönland Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Ilulissat Eisfjord Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Flüsse und Gletscher auf Disko Island Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Ostgrönland Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Ostgrönland (dunkle Version) Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Ostgrönland 2 Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Ostgrönland 3 Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Westgrönland Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Nuuk Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Kangerlussuaq Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Frederikshab Isblink Grönland-Mosaik Beispielausschnitt: Küste im äußersten Süden

Falls Sie Interesse an der Nutzung dieses Landsat-Mosaiks haben, können Sie das Formular unten verwenden, um Ihre Wünsche zu beschreiben und ich melde mich bei Ihnen.

Daten-Anfrage

Sie können Ihre Anfrage über dieses Formular eingeben, welches auch in verschlüsselter Form verfügbar ist. Falls bevorzugt können Sie natürlich auch eine Email schicken, falls erwünscht auch mit Verschlüsselung).

Verifikation Bitte geben Sie die Buchstabenfolge im Bild links in das Eingabefeld ein, damit ich Sie einfacher von Spam-Programmen unterscheiden kann.
* * Erforderliches Feld
Informationen über Sie
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Ich akzeptiere die Datenschutzrichtlinie*
Ihre Anfrage zu Geodaten

Bitte beschreiben Sie, was für Daten Sie benötigen und für welche Verwendung Sie diese lizenzieren möchten:

*

Heute ausgewähltes Bild:

Kamtschatka im Winter
Kamtschatka im Winter
Landsat-Mosaik, welches die Kamtschatka-Halbinsel im Osten Russlands zeigt. Zusammengestellt aus Landsat-Bildern vom Januar/Februar 2014 [mehr]
Design und Inhalt Copyright 2015 von Christoph Hormann
zuletzt aktualisiert 27. Oktober 2015 15:52